For those of you who have read A Rose Gardner Mystery series & the Investigation series, you will understand “Oh, Crappy Doodles!” If you haven’t read these series yet…shame on you 😉

I discovered A Rose Gardner Mystery series on Amazon a couple summers ago. After reading the first book in the series, Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes, I couldn’t stop. I fell in love with Rose and the rest of the characters.

Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes synopsis:

For Rose Gardner, working at the DMV is bad even before she has a vision of herself dead. She’s had plenty of visions, but she’s never seen herself before. When her overbearing momma winds up murdered instead of Rose, there’s only one thing that’s certain: Rose is the prime suspect.

With prison looming, Rose realizes she’s wasted her life and makes a list on the back of a Wal-Mart receipt: twenty-eight things she wants to accomplish before everything falls apart. From getting cable TV to doing “more” with a man, Rose is well on her way to committing a good number of the seven deadly sins, with the help of her hot and mysterious neighbor Joe, who has plenty of dangerous secrets of his own.

When her house is broken into and someone else she knows is murdered, Rose realizes that dying in the county jail may not be her biggest worry after all in Denise Grover Swank’s New York Times bestselling mystery debut.

Before reading Hell in a Handbasket, you will need to start with Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes and read the books in order leading up to the newest one. There are 9 books in the mystery series and several novellas. The series then spins off to A Rose Gardner Investigation series & Neely Kate Mysteries. Neely Kate appears later on in A Rose Gardner Mystery series…and you will love her! 

One of the reasons I love these books is because there are so many of them! I have enjoyed each book and they never get boring. I hope Denise continues to write about Rose and Neely Kate’s shenanigans for a long time!

Here is a list of the books you will need to read. I’ve listed them in order:

A Rose Gardner Mystery series…

51UXxfTsI5L._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_ 51WU+H6wxZL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_ 51Dx99asQ6L._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

RELATED  Release Blitz & Review: Dark Deception by Zoe Blake.

 51v1zrwKEML._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_ 51FjIAtT4LL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_  51UNST2FCbL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

51xxo9z1FwL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_ 51t7oFsS-2L._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_ 51S16qfBCfL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

A Rose Gardner Investigation series:

51w+H0mVMZL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_ 51Urfxs476L 51bLFod7xoL

Neely Kate Mystery series:

51DMDZTbP-L._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_  There are more in this series coming soon!

You can purchase Hell in a Handbasket by clicking HERE.

You can learn more about Denise’s books on her website by clicking HERE.

Denise is also active on social media:





Thanks for taking your time to read my post! 


This post contains affiliate links. Meaning that if you purchase their product by using the direct link, I receive a small compensation at no cost to you. However, I do not recommend or promote any products that I would not purchase for myself. Anything I promote is something I believe will be beneficial to my readers. For more information, you can click here to be directed to my disclosure page.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright© 2018 She is Fond of Books. All rights reserved.